top of page
  • Writer's pictureSugar Reef

4 creative ways to get your ideas out of your head.

When was the last time you thought about what you want from your business?……and not just the obvious.


Have you ever had so many ideas whizzing around in your head that you just couldn’t organise your thoughts?

When was the last time you thought about what you want from your business?……and not just the obvious.

We all have our trusted lists (please don’t tell me I’m alone in this) but occasionally when your up to you neck in excel spreadsheets, organisation apps and mood boards do you ever sit and think….

………….. there's got to be a better way, less stressful and more life loving?

I have SO many ideas ricocheting around my head….

Do I WANT to run my own business (most days yes)?

What do I want to gain this year? (I know what I would like to lose…approx. 42 lbs)

Can I afford a social media manager (I wish!)

How am I going to free up some of my time? (Would I know what to do with spare time?)

Should I try yoga or some meditation? (THAT’S what I can do with my spare time!)

I’ve been having conversations around different methods people use to quieten down the noise to allow their ideas to develop so I've created 4 top tips to show you how you can do it too – let the ideas flow.


Tip #1 - Life Sized Musical Mind Map



Personally I love setting aside an evening for a good mental dump into a mind map, especially to music. I grab a glass of vino and put up the “do not disturb” and as soon as Frankie says “relax”– I let it all out straight onto a plain wall, the boring, the idiotic, the achievable and the challenges (all to the cheesy soundtrack of my youth 😊)


Creative (or in my case chaotic) minds have a greater appreciation for the visual, it is much more than a list….as the name suggests it is a map, the pathways to your business growth.

Interested in a mind mapping power hour with me (minus the vino)? Click here to learn more.


Tip #2 - Lists & Manifestations



If your parents were anything like mine “I want…” was usually met with “I want doesn’t get” I want is considered bad manners but WHY?

I really really do want Domino’s to be slimming!

I recently had an illuminating conversation about manifestation courses which gave me cause for thought.

It isn’t at all hocus pocus and spell casting as it may at first sound. It’s a mindset, the laws of attraction……

…….for example, cast your mind back to school, did you ever pull a sickie and then actually spend the day feeling sick? Of course you did, and why were you suddenly feeling sick? Because you told yourself that’s how you felt.

Manifestations work on creating a positive mindset and taking proactive steps to reaching your goals.

The idea is you start by writing down the things you WANT – not what you think you need. It can be anything your crazy little heart desires…..

I want to lose 42lbs (admittedly the bag of Maltesers I ate whilst writing this hasn’t helped)

I want to launch my own clothing line (ok I am doing this, but you catch my drift)

Next set aside some time to think about the steps you need to take to reach your goal and build them into your day. For example if you want to open a second shop start by networking with people from your chosen location and putting the feelers out for premises. Imagine what your future self would be thinking after accomplishing each goal to reframe your mindset to a successful point.

Have a mix of small goals and larger ideals and be specific so you can check them off your list as you achieve them.



Tip #3 - Crystals


With dedicated shops popping up all over the place I think it is safe to say crystals are gaining some momentum again.

I have never really been all that interested in the world of crystals and healing, but I am having a second glance, I mean I always thought they were pretty in a dust gatherers kind of way but I’m a cynic to say the least.

My youngest little bean, however, is not – she is a card carrying (well crystal carrying actually) member of the club and fully believes in their healing power….


….”it’s about having faith mum, if you choose to allow yourself to believe something has a power and you use that faith to focus your mind you feel calm and mentally prepared to move forward” ….she’s a clever little bean sometimes.


The 4 crystals she has at the moment are:

· MooKaite - kept under her pillow. A nurturing stone that calms emotions, brings peace and aides in sound sleep.

· Opalite – worn as a bracelet or kept in the bathroom. Repels negativity because of its warm and positive energy. Promotes optimism and can aide change.

· Carnelian – worn in a ring or kept on her desk – enhances creativity, confidence and balances energy levels.

· Rose Quartz – worn as a pendant. It restores trust and harmony in relationships, encouraging unconditional love. self-love, friendship, deep inner healing and feelings of peace.


Tip #4 - Rally the troops


Build your tribe, create a community…..whatever you like to call it….speak to the people that make you believe in yourself.

I’m not a huge social media fan but there are some really terrific networking groups that always have someone on hand to give you direction, advice or just a boost.

· Janet Murry – a content marketing expert with a huge & supportive audience that happily pitch in with answers to questions.

· Social Media Money Makers - A community dedicated to start-up businesses and established women entrepreneurs supporting one and another.

· Mums in Business International- Support Group for Women in Business

· Small Business Marketing – a group for independent UK businesses.


I would be selective about how many you follow though – too many and you could find yourself drowning in information and tips.



Need help with developing the next stage of your business? Click here to see how I can help you move forward with your business whatever stage your at.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page